Blog #12: Beautiful Bountiful Buckwheat (It’s Gluten-FreeπŸ‘Œ)

IMG_20170331_213746

Before discovering Stoked Oats (gluten-free oats), I was trying to figure out what I could mix together to mimic having oatmeal/cooked cereal. Early last year when I was still eating eggs and dairy, I didn’t need to worry as much about getting my protein from grains or plant sources at breakfast because I still had egg/dairy options I was using. Β So, later on last year I’d gotten some buckwheat groats which I’d mixed with brown rice meal, ground flax, dried fruit, cinnamon, nutmeg and agave nectar to create my own version of an ‘oatmeal’ cereal to have at breakfast….(***I did not pay full attention to the protein content in buckwheat***). Now that it’s a whole new ball game where I cannot have any dairy, soy, corn, gluten, and I was always allergic to all fish and shellfish, nuts and tree nuts AND I’m a vegetarian, my food options are wellllll…….very specific πŸ˜• πŸ˜•.

Now, because I’ve been eating fruit for breakfast for some quite some time (I gotta say, it’s just such an easy, nutritious and convenient food choice, like seriously people 🀣🀣 give it a go!)…I TOTALLY forgot that I had buckwheat left, and oh boy, was mama happy to find it!πŸ’ƒπŸ½πŸ‘Œ.

Originally, I had purchased the buckwheat to serve my gluten-free needs. That was my primary focus (not the protein content). I always read food labels because I’ve always had to due to my food allergies, so I know I read the nutritional value sticker, but just in general in this case. Β To my fantastic surprise, buckwheat groats have 15 GRAMS OF PROTEIN PER 100G!!!! That’s pure fire πŸ”₯πŸ”₯πŸ‘ŒπŸ‘Œ. Β I found another food puzzle piece!! BOOM! ZINGGG!! So, anyone out there seeking a dairy-free, gluten-free, vegetarian protein source, check out Buckwheat!! I got mine at Vita Health (not surprising πŸ˜πŸ˜‚ lol). Β Bob’s Red Mill is a brand that has gluten-free options within it’s line and is available in many normal grocery stores.

Hope this helps! Buckwheat is a good food option even if you have zero food restrictions! πŸ˜€ ✌️

5 thoughts on “Blog #12: Beautiful Bountiful Buckwheat (It’s Gluten-FreeπŸ‘Œ)

    1. Yessss! I’m so pumped you like buckwheat too!! πŸ˜„ ✌ I have never had it on salad before. Just in the breakfast setting. I know it can be made in a savoury way too. How do you apply it to salad? Tell me your ways, lol πŸ˜‚

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Oh you should try it. It tastes amazing! You just cook the buckwheat and then add grilled vegetables, or salmon, spinach and beetroot tastes great. I just get imaginative πŸ˜€

        Like

Leave a Reply

